Trust Structure

Trust Board

The Board of the South Eastern Trust is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the Trust’s activities. It is accountable, through the chairman, to the Permanent Secretary at the Department of Health, and ultimately to the Minister for Health.

It is made up of a Chairman, Chief Executive, seven non Executive Directors and eight Directors. The Department of Health appoints non-executive directors, with the approval of the Minister for Health.

The Trust Board meets approximately 8 times per year and anyone can attend.

The Trust Board also holds an Annual General Meeting in September each year.


The South Eastern Trust provides integrated care. This means that we provide both acute services (hospital based) and community services (in your own home or local health centre) in a joined up way. In order to deliver these services in the best way they have been grouped into 8 Directorates:

  • Children’s Services & Social Work
  • Medical
  • Adult Services
  • Primary Care, Elderly & Nursing
  • Hospital Services
  • Human Resources & Corporate Affairs
  • Finance & Estates
  • Planning, Information & Performance Management

  • Directorate of Children's Services

    Lyn Preece

    Director of Children’s Services and Executive Director of Social Work

    • Assistant Director Children & Young People’s Family Support & Safeguarding Services
    • Assistant Director Children & Young People’s Care Services
    • Assistant Director Children & Young People’s Healthcare
    • Assistant Director Prevention & Population Health
    • Assistant Director Social Work
  • Directorate of Finance and Estates

    Wendy Thompson
    Director of Finance and Estates

    • Assistant Director Financial Management
    • Assistant Director Financial Services
    • Assistant Director Financial Performance/Capital
    • Assistant Director Estates
  • Directorate of Human Resources and Corporate Affairs

    Claire Smyth
    Interim Director of Human Resources & Corporate Affairs

    • Assistant Director Employee Relations
    • Assistant Director Employee Resourcing & Administration Services
    • Assistant Director Organisation & Workforce Development
    • Assistant Director Risk Management & Governance / Board Secretary
    • Assistant Director Patient Experience
    • Head of Communications
  • Directorate of Adult Services and Prison Healthcare

    Margaret O’Kane
     Director of Adult Services & Prison Healthcare

    Clinical Director Mental Health
    Clinical Director Prison Healthcare

    • Assistant Director Mental Health
    • Assistant Director Adult Disability Services
    • Assistant Director Prison Healthcare
    • Head of Psychology
  • Directorate of Hospital Services

    David Robinson
     Director of Hospital Services

    • Assistant Director Medicine
    • Assistant Director Surgery
    • Assistant Director Unscheduled Care
    • Assistant Director Women & Acute Children’s Health
    • Assistant Director Elective Care & Radiology
    • Assistant Director Cancer Services & Surgical Specialties
  • Medical Administration

    Mr Charles Martyn
    Medical Director

    Business Partner Medical & Dental Workforce
    Clinical Leaders

    • Associate Medical Director of Medical Education & Training
    • Associate Medical Director Governance & Service Review
    • Associate Medical Director Corporate Governance, Safety & Quality Improvement
    • Associate Medical Director Clinical Risk, Standards & Litigation
  • Directorate of Planning, Performance and Informatics

    Helen Moore
    Director of Planning, Performance & Informatics

    • Assistant Director Technology & Telecommunications
    • Assistant Director Strategic & Capital Development
    • Assistant Director Performance Improvement & Commissioning
    • Assistant Director of Contracts, Social Care Procurement & Commissioning
  • Directorate of Primary Care and Older People

    Nicki Patterson
    Director of Primary Care, Older People & Executive Director of Nursing

    Clinical Director Primary Care

    • Assistant Director Older People’s Service
    • Assistant Director Allied Health Professions
    • Assistant Director Primary Care & Nursing (and MHSOP)
    • Assistant Director Nursing (Workforce & Education)
    • Assistant Director Safe & Effective Care